SOUTH CAMBRIDGESHIRE DISTRICT COUNCIL

At a meeting of the Council held on Thursday, 28 September 2006 at 5.27 p.m.

Councillor Mrs CAED Murfitt – Chairman PRESENT:

Councillor JH Stewart – Vice-Chairman

Councillors: Dr DR Bard, RE Barrett, JD Batchelor, Mrs PM Bear, AN Berent, NCF Bolitho,

RF Bryant, BR Burling, NN Cathcart, JP Chatfield, NS Davies, SM Edwards, Mrs SM Ellington, Mrs A Elsby, Mrs VG Ford, Mrs JM Guest, Dr SA Harangozo,

Mrs SA Hatton, Mrs EM Heazell, JA Hockney, MP Howell, Mrs CA Hunt, Mrs HF Kember, SGM Kindersley, Mrs JE Lockwood, RMA Manning, RB Martlew, MJ Mason, RM Matthews, DC McCraith, DH Morgan,

CR Nightingale, EJ Pateman, JA Quinlan, A Riley, Mrs DP Roberts, NJ Scarr, Mrs HM Smith, Mrs DSK Spink MBE, RT Summerfield, Dr SEK van de Ven,

Mrs BE Waters and NIC Wright

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor TD Bygott, Mrs PS Corney, Mrs SJO Doggett, R Hall, PT Johnson, R Page, RJ Turner and TJ Wotherspoon.

1. **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST**

Councillors JD Batchelor, SGM Kindersley and DC McCraith declared personal interests as elected Cambridgeshire County Councillors.

2. MOVE TO FOUR-YEARLY DISTRICT COUNCIL ELECTIONS

Consultation on the District Council's electoral arrangements had resulted in 54% of the public supporting a move to "all-out" elections every four years, but 58% of the parish councils which had responded preferring the present system of "election by thirds".

Noting that any delay on a decision by the Secretary of State could result in the first opportunity for "all-out" elections being postponed until 2011, Councillor RMA Manning proposed, seconded by Councillor MJ Mason, that Council DEFER its decision and reconsider the issue in October 2007.

Council unanimously **DEFERRED** to October 2007 a decision on whether or not to make an application to the Secretary of State to change the Council's electoral arrangements to "all-out" elections every four years.

Subsequent to the meeting it was confirmed that the Council's Electoral Arrangements Committee did not have the responsibility to make recommendations on this issue.

The Meeting ended at 5.30 p.m.